Call Me Despicable: A Really Big Update on What I’ve Been Up To

If I were to ask those of you who know me well to describe me in one word, I’m sure I would receive many different responses. Over my lifetime so far, my closest friends and family have called me bright, clumsy, talented, silly, critical, lazy, outspoken, annoying, etc, etc. The list goes on and on.

If I gathered all of those people in a room and asked them to come to a consensus on one word to define me, I do not know which they would choose.

What I do know is that the word I’d most desire to be defined as is creative.

That’s who I feel I am right now. I walk around every day very much with my head in the clouds, dreaming up ideas of the things that I want to make. My medium is media, so on any given day this is song ideas, book topics, movies I want to make, conversations I want to document, etc. Any moment I am by myself is flooded with these thoughts.

However, as I drift through my third year of college, my first year of my 20s, whatever you want to call it, I can’t help but feel unsatisfied with the amount of these ideas I’ve let out into the world. I’ve dabbled in many of these arenas. I recorded and released an EP for my band in high school, I’ve produced records with other artists here at school, and once in a while I’ve written on this blog (but only when something extreme enough happens that I feel the need to write about it).

What I’ve lacked is structure in the creation process. I’ve failed to stay motivated and to operate as if what I do matters. I haven’t put out so little because I don’t have the ideas or the means to do so; I’ve simply let myself believe that I need a massive amount of influence before I can start really devoting myself to the creative process.

Well, my friends, I am done with that lie.
And this is why I am excited to announce the launch of Despicable Media Group.

 

Allow me to answer your initial questions…

What is it?

Despicable Media Group is a media collective that I am launching independently. It will be represented by an official website that acts as a portal to all of my personal creative projects.

At launch, it will represent:

  • my Rochester-based band, Static Speed.
  • a podcast about great music and real people’s stories (launching in March).
  • my freelance audio production work.
  • future releases of my own solo music.
  • the blog you’re reading right now.

Moving forward, I intend to grow and partner with other creative people that share the same core values about creativity and bring them into the fold. Projects will cross-collaborate and promote one another, sharing resources and helping each other make more honest and expressive art of many kinds.

What is the purpose of this?

For you, the reader, the launch of this entity may seem trivial. After all, it is literally starting as a simple website that will aggregate my own content. I could simply post and promote these things through my own social media.

For me, this launch represents a commitment to hold back less, release more, and start viewing my creations as valuable.

About a year ago, I had a great conversation with singer-songwriter/speaker/author Justin McRoberts. I was describing to him my fear of releasing the things I was working on (specifically music), because I wanted my early work to be memorable. I was struggling with the perception that all the artists I admire had defining debut projects that put their artistic vision “on the map” as it were.

Justin suggested to me that I consider letting the art speak for itself, and insisted that art that resonates with people (which very much describes my ambition) is not something that is calculated. Rather, the artist’s influence and voice are discovered continually as their audience digests and reacts to their work. Looking back now, this seems apparent, but at the time, it was a truth I had become blind to.

The more Justin and I talked, the more I became convinced that the belief that my infant art didn’t matter is one I need to reject. Fast-forward a semester, and I began plotting out that rejection. Not only for my musical projects, but for all of them.

 

Why is it called “Despicable”?

I intend to write a follow-up post later this year explaining the reason I have chosen this name, so I won’t go into detail here. (I will let you know that it does NOT have anything to do with the movie “Despicable Me”.)

Here is a shortened explanation; the credo if you will:
“If it’s despicable for a nobody to act as if their voice is worth a platform, the world needs more despicable people.”

 

What does this mean for me?

Well, my friend, consider this post my invitation for you to join me as I embark on this endeavor.

Please check out Despicable Media Group for it’s grand launch on Saturday, January 30th, or even consider visiting now to subscribe to email updates of when I release new content!

Leave a Reply

